The Goose Creek Branch of the NAACP honored six people with awards at their 14th annual banquet on Oct.6 at the Crown Plaza Hotel in North Charleston.

Charles E. Schuster received the 2018 President’s Award. LaVone Holbert, Herbert Bodison, Barbara Blackwell and Shirley Martin all received Appreciation Awards.

Veronica Dukes, President of the Goose Creek branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, said she was very proud of the fact that Ricky Ciapha Dennis Jr. received the 2018 Community Award.

Dennis worked for Summerville Communications (Goose Creek Gazette) as a reporter from 2016 to 2018. He covered news in Moncks Corner, Goose Creek and Summerville.