Gamecocks among Charleston Classic field

  • Tuesday, August 5, 2014

The brackets have been revealed for the 2014 Charleston Classic basketball tournament from Nov. 20-23.

The event is held annually at College of Charlestonís TD Arena.

South Carolina will be among the eight teams slated to compete for the title. The other seven teams in the Classic are Southern California, Miami (Fla.), Penn State, Charlotte, Cornell, Akron and Drexel.

The first day of games will see USC and Akron play at 12:30 p.m. followed by Miami, Fla. and Drexel (3 p.m.), Penn State and Charlotte (5 p.m.) and South Carolina and Cornell (7:30 p.m).

UMass won last yearís Classic, beating Clemson in the final.

The Gamecocks will make their second visit to the Charleston Classic. In the 2009 Classic, South Carolina lost to Miami in the championship game, 85-70.

Penn State is also making a return trip to the Classic. The Nittany Lions were 1-2 in 2009.

Tickets are available through the College of Charleston ticket office at (843) 953-2632.

Fans can purchase tickets to all six sessions (12 games) for $100 each, or single-session tickets (two games) for $22 each.

All Classic games will be broadcast on one of ESPNís networks.


Notice about comments:

The Gazette is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not The Gazette.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads

The Gazette

© 2015 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.