Republicans fill out county slate

  • Thursday, April 3, 2014

A second challenger entered the race for sheriff for June’s Republican primary.

Now Brian Adams and Matt Smoak will challenge incumbent Sheriff Wayne DeWitt for the Republican nomination Tuesday, June 10.

Smoak filed Friday, March 29.

Noon Sunday, March 30, was the filing deadline for candidates to run in the primary. No Democratic challengers filed so there will not be a Democratic primary.

Other candidates include:

• Clerk of Court – Mary Brown (incumbent), Leah Guerry

• County Supervisor – Dan Davis (incumbent), Jerry Beckley, Bill Peagler

• County Council District 4 – (no incumbent) Aldo Napoli, Tommy Newell, James Royce

• County Council District 5 – Dennis Fish (incumbent), Bud Thames

• County Council District 6 – Jack Schurlknight (incumbent), James Law, Baron Thomas

Unchallenged county seats within the incumbent’s party include: Probate Judge (Keith Kornahrens), County Coroner (Bill Salisbury), Register of Deeds (Cindy Forte), County Council District 7 (Caldwell Pinkney), and County Council District 8 (Steve Davis).

July 15 is the deadline for independent candidates to file for office.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Gazette

© 2016 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.