2 file for vacant school board seat

  • Thursday, February 13, 2014

Two citizens have filed for the Berkeley County School Board District 9 seat vacated by Scott Marino, who moved out of state for work.

Kevin Condon and James Hayes filed for the school board seat before the filing deadline last week, according to Berkeley Elections and Voter Registration Director Adam Hammons.

The special election will take place on April 8. The district covers schools on the western side of Goose Creek and Summerville, Cross and Moncks Corner schools.

Several Berkeley County and statehouse seats are also up for election this year. Filing for the June primary will open March 16 and close March 30, according to Hammons.

Both U.S. Senate seats are up along with U.S. Congressional Districts 1 and 6.

Statehouse districts 15, 92, 99, 100, 102 and 117 are all up for election this year. Those seats are currently held by Samuel Rivers, Joe Daning, Jim Merrill, Eddy Southard, Joe Jefferson and Bill Crosby, respectively.

Statehouse representatives file in the county of their residence, Hammons said.

These districts are all in Berkeley County or some part of them encompass county voters, Hammons said.

Countywide offices up for election are supervisor, council districts 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, probate judge, sheriff, clerk of court, coroner and register of deeds.

Those offices are currently held by Dan Davis, Cathy Davis, Dennis Fish, Jack Schurlknight, Caldwell Pinckney, Clive Davis, Keith Kornahrens, Wayne DeWitt, Mary Brown, Bill Salisbury and Cynthia Forte, respectively.

“We’ve got some new precincts in the state legislature that will be ready for the primary,” Hammons said, adding that those have not been determined yet. “Based on what I have heard from some of our representatives, we should know something it he next couple of weeks.”

State officers are also up for vote this year. These need to filed at the state election commission between Mach 16 and March 16.

Those officers are secretary of state, treasurer, attorney general, comptroller general, superintendent of education, adjutant general and commissioner of agriculture.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Gazette

© 2016 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.