Grapplers claim Region 7-AAAA championships

  • Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Cane Bay’s Albert Ednilao was the champion in the 106-pound weight class in the Region 7-AAAA championship. ROB GANTT/GAZETTE

 Wrestlers from Stratford, Cane Bay and Goose Creek high schools accounted for nine of the 14 region titles in the Region 7-AAAA championships last Wednesday at SHS.
The host Knights had four weight class champions. They were Nick Young (132), Kemp Shider (138), Tevin Smith (162) and T.J. Deveaux (170).
Cane Bay had three region champions, Albert Ednilao (106), Michael Green (152) and Matt Rudy (182).
Goose Creek’s two region winners were Brandon Washington (113) and T.J. Lewis (145).
Wando had five region winners to lead the way.
The top three finishers from each weight class earned spots in the Class AAAA Lower State qualifier Feb. 15-16 at Lugoff-Elgin High School.
From there, the top four at each weight class move on to the Class AAAA finals at the Anderson Civic Center on Feb. 22-23.
Shuler and Young are ranked second in the state by scmat.com heading into final stretch of the season.
1. Albert Ednilao (Cane Bay)  33-13
2. Allen Moran (Goose Creek)  22-4
3. Darren Scott (Wando)  39-15
1. Brandon Washington (Goose Creek)  13-2
2. Tyler Hurst (West Ashley)  31-3
3. Aaron Watkins (Stratford) 29-13
1. Alex Cullen (Wando)  33-5
2. Billy Ackerman (Stratford)  23-7
3. Dylan Wheat (Goose Creek)  15-9
1. Ben Crutchfield (Wando)  46-6
2. Reggie Smith (Goose Creek)  19-7
3. Paul Mckeever (Cane Bay)  36-13
1. Nicholas Young (Stratford)  41-4
2. Mike Whaley (Goose Creek) 15-6
3. Dakota Dahabi (Wando)  2-1
1. Kemp Shider (Stratford)  21-11
2. Eddie Brookshire (Cane Bay)  32-13
3. Geoff Eisner (Wando)  23-18
1. TJ Lewis (Goose Creek)  18-5
2. Oscar Rodriguez (Stratford)  23-10
3. Josh Teates (Wando)  27-11
1. Michael Green (Cane Bay)  22-8
2. Christian Rubin (Goose Creek)  7-1
3. Joey Paragano (Wando)  31-16
1. Tevin Smith (Stratford)  26-5
2. Dylan Pope (Cane Bay)  6-3
3. Caleb Rubin (Goose Creek)  7-1
1. TJ Deveaux (Stratford)  24-4
2. Ryan Stovall (Cane Bay)  35-10
3. Ryan Williams (Wando)  20-21
1. Matt Rudy (Cane Bay)  38-4
2. Noah Shuler (Stratford)  28-8
3. Mason Palmer (Goose Creek)  6-4
1. Brennan Medders (Wando)  23-12
2. Daren McNeal (Goose Creek)  5-9
3. Paul Peart (Cane Bay)  21-14
1. Aaron Anderson  (Wando)  33-4
2. Lee Russell (West Ashley)  27-8
3. Daniel Dees (Stratford)  22-12
1. Hunter Allen (Wando)  29-14
2. Shawn Peace (Stratford)  7-3
3. Todd Truesdale (West Ashley)  28-7


Notice about comments:

The Gazette is pleased to offer readers the enhanced ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. We do not edit user submitted statements and we cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not The Gazette.

If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Read our full terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads

The Gazette

© 2015 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.