A “Snowmeggeddon Diary”

Wednesday, February 5, 2014 12:01 a.m.

Just in case the world ends on Wednesday, Jan. 29, with this epic and historic winter storm, I have begun this diary so that eons from now, when the Great Thaw frees my body from this icy grave, maybe future generations will know.

A LEGO Movie?

Wednesday, January 29, 2014 12:01 a.m.

There is one word that will strike fear and horror into the hearts of any parent.

At the movies ...

Thursday, January 23, 2014 12:01 a.m.

I’m sitting here trying to decide about what to write.

At the movies

Wednesday, January 22, 2014 12:01 a.m.

I’m sitting here trying to decide about what to write.

The day after ...

Thursday, December 26, 2013 2:35 p.m.

Clement Clarke Moore wrote the poem “Twas the Night Before Christmas” in 1822. With Christmas morning in your rearview mirror, here’s my version. A “What If” take, such as What if Santa left one kid in all the world nothing but clothes under the Christmas tree on Christmas morning and this event was then memorialized in a poem?

Twas the Day After Christmas

Wednesday, December 25, 2013 11:13 p.m.

Clement Clarke Moore wrote the poem “Twas the Night Before Christmas” in 1822. With Christmas morning in your rearview mirror, here’s my version. A “What If” take, such as What if Santa left one kid in all the world nothing but clothes under the Christmas tree on Christmas morning and this event was then memorialized in a poem?

Fanfare for the Common Man: Catching Santa UPDATED

Wednesday, December 18, 2013 3:58 p.m.

I was an obsessive child.

The elusive Santa Claus

Wednesday, December 18, 2013 4:09 p.m.

I was an obsessive child.

Deconstructing Rudolph

Wednesday, December 4, 2013 11:33 a.m.

Christmas songs have always bothered me.

Fanfare for the Common Man: The Holidays are here!

Wednesday, November 27, 2013 6:36 p.m.

Where has the time gone?

Fanfare for the Common Man: It’s my birthay

Thursday, November 21, 2013 12:51 p.m.

Today is my birthday.

What’s up with the third toe? UPDATED

Friday, November 15, 2013 12:50 p.m.

You can blame this on last week’s time change.

Fanfare for the Common Man: The third toe

Tuesday, November 12, 2013 2:43 p.m.

You can blame this on last week’s time change.

Fanfare for the Common Man: No Fair

Thursday, November 7, 2013 2:23 p.m.

Nothing against the Coastal Carolina Fair, but this is my sixth such fair and I’ve passed every time

Upcoming Events
 Latest News
Print Ads
Latest Videos


The Gazette

© 2014 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.