Moore honored by Smoke Free Lowcountry

  • Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Photo Provided Pictured with Franklin Moore (center) are Smoke Free Lowcountry Board Members Wehme Hutto and Richard Hernandez, PhD.

Goose Creek City Councilmember Franklin Moore was recently recognized by the Smoke Free Lowcountry Coalition at the group’s annual meeting. 
Moore received the Smoke Free Councilmember of the Year Award 2013 for his leadership in passing a smoke free ordinance for Goose Creek. He introduced the ordinance in 2012 in response to Goose Creek citizens requests and it passed on Jan. 8, 2013. 
Councilmembers voting in favor of the smoke free ordinance also included Kimo Esarey, Jerry Tekac and Mark Phillips. The ordinance will go into effect July 1, 2013. Goose Creek was the 51st ordinance to be passed in the state; currently there are 53.
Smoke Free Lowcountry Coalition presented several other Tobacco Free Awards.  Susan Johnson, the director for the Center of Health Promotion at MUSC was presented with the Smoke Free Advocate of the Year Award for her work with passing a MUSC Smoke Free Policy and the Smoke Free Medical Zone.
Rodney Williams was presented with the Smoke Free Community Advocate Award. Williams has provided secondhand smoke education to key stakeholders supporting passage of most of the ordinances passed in the Charleston, Berkeley and Dorchester County area over the past seven years. 
Henry Darby, Charleston County Councilmember, received the Smoke Free Councilmember of the Year Award for his leadership in passing a smoke free ordinance for Charleston County.
The Smoke Free Lowcountry Coalition annual meeting was funded by the South Carolina Tobacco Free Collaborative, the Healthy South Carolina Initiative and the Medical University of South Carolina.
Tobacco use is the leading preventable cause of death in South Carolina. Smoking-related medical costs amount to $1.1 billion each year.  For more information on tobacco control or to become involved please visit www.smokefreelowcountry.org or contact Wehme Hutto at (843) 312-9344.

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Gazette

© 2016 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.