Terry, Turner take top honors in All-County Line selections

  • Monday, January 14, 2013

Tramel Terry was Berkeley County's Offensive Player of the Year.

Goose Creek High School swept the Berkeley County superlatives in the All-County Line Football Team selections released Wednesday.
The team is selected annually by the sports staffs of The Gazette and the Summerville Journal Scene and includes players from their respective coverage areas in Berkeley and Dorchester counties.
Goose Creek coach Chuck Reedy was selected as Berkeley County Coach of the Year, while wide receiver/running back Tramel Terry was named Berkeley County Offensive Player of the Year and Gerald Turner Berkeley County Defensive Player of the Year.
Reedy guided the nationally-ranked Gators to a 13-0 record before they were removed from the playoffs by the South Carolina High School League Executive Committee after self reporting a possible ineligible player on the roster. The player in question, a special needs student, never entered a game Goose Creek was leading by less than 41 points and played just 17 plays all year.
Terry, who is set to enroll at Georgia this month, finished his career as the state’s Mr. Football selection and played in the annual Shrine Bowl. He was also supposed to play in the Under Armour All-American game in early January before tearing his anterior cruciate ligament in the Shrine Bowl. He had nearly 1,700 total yards between rushing and receiving this season and scored 24 touchdowns.
He had 52 touchdowns in his career and topped 4,300 total yards.
Turner, a South Carolina commitment, dominated one side of the line and teams often ran away from him this season. He had 66 total tackles, including 19 for lost yardage. He added eight sacks and pressured the quarterback 25 times.
He also played in the Shrine Bowl, finishing with six tackles and an interception in the South Carolina squad’s victory.
Dorchester County’s top player awards went to Ashley Ridge running back Romelo Doctor and Summerville linebacker Mac McCurry. Summerville coach John McKissick was named Dorchester County Coach of the Year after winning the Region 8-AAAA title. He also captured his 600th career victory this season.
During 11 regular-season games McCurry made 175 tackles, nearly 70 more than any other player on his team. Of those, 93 were solo tackles and nine were sacks.
This season, Doctor rushed for 1,450 yards, scored 20 TDs and participated in the Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas all-star game, during which he scored a touchdown.
McKissick and the Green Wave won Region 8-AAAA with a 5-0 record, a very solid finish considering a 2-4 start.
Counting their two players of the year, the Goose Creek Gators had the most first-teamers on the All-County Line team of any school. The Gators earned 10 first-team nods, four on offense and six on defense.
Summerville was second with eight first-team selections, three on offense and five on defense.
Stratford had five first teamers and Cane Bay landed three players on the first team.
Gazette-area first-team selections on offense were Stratford quarterback Jacob Park, Goose Creek running back Caleb Kinlaw, Stratford receiver Jordan Johnson, Goose Creek lineman Rodney Garrett, Cane Bay lineman Charles Thompson, Stratford lineman William Flake and Goose Creek tight end Kalan Ritchie.
Gazette-area first-team selections on defense were Stratford defensive lineman Shawn Peace, Goose Creek defensive lineman Mike Myers, Goose Creek defensive end DeShawn Evans, Goose Creek linebacker Daylin Julius, Goose Creek linebacker Jalen Stevens, Cane Bay linebacker Matt Rudy, Stratford defensive back Taylor Morrison and Goose Creek defensive back Omar McRae.
Cane Bay’s Maurice Wesley was a first-team pick as a kick returner.


Berkeley County Coach of the Year: Chuck Reedy, Goose Creek
Dorchester County Coach of the Year: John McKissick, Summerville
Berkeley County Offensive Player of the Year: Tramel Terry, Goose Creek
Berkeley County Defensive Player of the Year: Gerald Turner, Goose Creek
Dorchester County Offensive Player of the Year: Romelo Doctor, Ashley Ridge Dorchester County Defensive Player of the Year: Mac McCurry, Summerville


Jacob Park, Stratford

Jerod Tucker, Summerville

Devon Anderson, Summerville
Caleb Kinlaw, Goose Creek

T.J. Smith, Fort Dorchester
Jordan Johnson, Stratford

Vernon Moree, Ashley Ridge

Grant Wactor, Summerville
Tyese McDonald, Fort Dorchester
Rodney Garrett, Goose Creek
William Flake, Stratford
Charles Thompson, Cane Bay

Kalan Ritchie, Goose Creek

Cameron Smith, Ashley Ridge

Kuwan Cox, Summerville
Shawn Peace, Stratford
Mike Myers Goose Creek
Myles White, Fort Dorchester
DeShawn Evans, Goose Creek

Adam Blocker, Summerville
Daylin Julius, Goose Creek
Jalen Stevens, Goose Creek
Matt Rudy, Cane Bay

Darrin Smalls, Summerville
Kendall Felder, Ashley Ridge
Taylor Morrison, Stratford
Omar McRae, Goose Creek

Parker Cleveland, Summerville

Maurice Wesley, Cane Bay


Dantez Bennamon, Goose Creek

Rico Blanding, Goose Creek

Daitwan Commodore, Fort Dorchester
Noah Shuler, Stratford

Chris White, Stratford
Mikey Goodwine, Ashley Ridge

Jacob Thompson, Ashley Ridge

Nick Tononi, Fort Dorchester
Brian Nix, Ashley Ridge
Zak Bailey, Summerville
Michael Hughes, Stratford
Dylan Steele, Goose Creek

Sean Smith, Summerville

Masamitsu Ishibashi, Goose Creek

Andrew Niemeyer, Pinewood
Henry Pryor, Cane Bay
Matt Powell, Summerville
Eurndraius Bryant, Fort Dorchester
Joseph Pringle, Ashley Ridge

Michael Simmons, Stratford
Kealon Weldon, Cane Bay
Cecil Smith, Stratford
Kevyn Flores, Fort Dorchester

Maleik Ravenell, Goose Creek
Sheldon Reid, Stratford
Zach Armstrong, Ashley Ridge
T.J. Wilson, Pinewood

Corey Rawlings, Fort Dorchester

Charles Loftland, Fort Dorchester

Latest Videos
News from Twitter

The Gazette

© 2016 The Gazette an Evening Post Industries company. All Rights Reserved.

Registration on or use of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms of Service, Privacy Policy and Parental Consent Form.